Youth Mobility Scheme – Changes coming soon

Changes to the Youth Mobility Scheme

The UK Government has, in a recent Statement of Changes to the UK Immigration Rules, made some announcements on the Youth Mobility Scheme (YMS). The changes will bring welcome news for nationals from Iceland and India!

Unfortunately, most of the substantive amendments to the scheme will only take place on 1 January 2022.

Rebranding of the Scheme

The YMS is currently officially known as the T5 (Temporary Worker) Youth Mobility Scheme. The UK Government is planning to rebrand the scheme as the Youth Mobility Scheme. The rebranding of the scheme will take place on 11 October 2021.

Applying from posts worldwide

The UK Government also announced changes that will make it possible for citizens with a passport issued by an eligible territory without Deemed Sponsorship status to apply for this route from any post that accepts the YMS applications.

Countries eligible for the Youth Mobility Scheme

Currently, only eligible nationals from the following countries can apply: Australia, Canada, Monaco, New Zealand and San Marino.

Eligible nationals from the following countries can apply if selected in the YMS ballot: Hong Kong, Japan, South Korea and Taiwan.

It is also possible to apply if you are between 18 and 30 years old and a British overseas citizen, a British overseas territories citizen or a British national. In such cases, there are no sponsorship requirements.

From 1 January 2022, Iceland will be added to the Youth Mobility Scheme as a country without deemed Sponsorship status. In practice, this means that there will be an annual allocation of 1,000 places. It will work as per the current ballot scheme.

From 1 January 2022, the UK Government will add India to the list of countries where the invitation to apply arrangements apply. 

Youth Mobility Scheme Requirements for Indian citizens

There will be an additional Youth Mobility Scheme requirement for applications from Indian citizens. Indian citizens wanting to apply will be able to meet this requirement via education or work experience.

If Indian nationals want to meet the requirement via education, they have fulfil the following criteria:

Hold a qualification equal to or above RQF level 6. They also have to provide written confirmation from the issuing institute that they have successfully completed the studies and graduated.

If Indian nationals want to meet the requirement via work experience, they have to fulfil the following criteria:

Prove a minimum of three years’ work experience in a professional role. The role must be equivalent to an eligible occupation that the Home Office will list in an appendix of skilled occupations. The applicant will have to provide proof in the form of payslips.

How Breytenbachs can help you

If you are interested in applying for the Youth Mobility Scheme, you are welcome to contact one of our consultants. They will check your eligibility, explain and assist with the process from start to finish. Should you not be eligible, the Breytenbachs consultants will look into alternative routes.

Please contact us today for further information or applications.

Related Posts