Countries considered by the UK Home Office as English Speaking Countries

The Home Office considers certain countries as so-called English Speaking Countries. Unless you are a national from one of these countries, you have to prove your knowledge of English.

All Applicants applying for Settlement in the UK (Indefinite Leave to Remain), or British Citizenship via naturalisation are required to fulfil an English Language Requirement. This English Language requirement is part of the so-called KoLL requirement or Knowledge of Language and Life in the UK.

Applicants who are nationals of majority English speaking countries and those who have obtained a degree taught in English will not be required to undertake the separate English test.

The UK Home Office consider the following countries to be from a majority English speaking country, and they thus automatically fulfil the English Language Requirement.

English Speaking Countries

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • British Overseas Territories
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • The United States of America

Nationals of these countries (considered to be English Speaking Countries) only need to submit their passport or travel document, to prove they meet the English Language Requirement.

Please speak to your BIC consultant for more information in your unique circumstances.